Which bank account details are safe to give a new client?
Thread poster: alexbotti
alexbotti
alexbotti
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:16
French to English
+ ...
Jan 13, 2020

Hello all,
I'm a translator based in the UK, mainly working with European and US clients.
When setting up with a potential new client, it can be difficult to decide which payment method to use. I prefer using bank transfer and haven't had any problems with this so far. Usually, all the client needs is the sort code and account number; in some cases, the IBAN number as well.
I was recently contacted by a new Russian translation agency and we are at the payment method discussio
... See more
Hello all,
I'm a translator based in the UK, mainly working with European and US clients.
When setting up with a potential new client, it can be difficult to decide which payment method to use. I prefer using bank transfer and haven't had any problems with this so far. Usually, all the client needs is the sort code and account number; in some cases, the IBAN number as well.
I was recently contacted by a new Russian translation agency and we are at the payment method discussion point (I haven't done any translation work for them yet). They insist they need my card number along with my sort code and account number, which I find a bit suspicious. No other client has ever asked for this. What is your opinion on this? Is this a scam?
The client has offered other methods of payment, saying they "understand I may not want to give them my card number" (they suggested Skrill, Western Union, SmartCat, and others I am not familiar with). This is my first time dealing with a Russian agency; perhaps they have other regulations?
Any advice would be highly appreciated.
Many thanks!
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
None... Jan 13, 2020

Always tell a new client that your bank details will be given on your invoice.