Help! Wordfast not translating (I'm new to Wordfast)
Thread poster: raquel75 (X)
raquel75 (X)
raquel75 (X)
United States
Local time: 06:57
English to Spanish
Oct 4, 2017

Hi!

I have just downloaded and installed Wordfast 3.0, and I'm having trouble getting it to translate a text.
I created a New Project, added an empty TM, opened a file to translate, but when I click on Translate All, nothing happens!
I must be doing something wrong.
Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Jean Lachaud
Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
English to French
+ ...
If the TM is empty... Oct 4, 2017

You state your TM is empty. Since "Translate All" is based on the TM, nothing is going to happen.

Did you read the Wordfast manual?

raquel75 (X)
raquel75 (X)
United States
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
I'm not sure what a TM is Oct 5, 2017

Hi, and thanks so much for your quick reply.

I have read part of the manual, but I'm still not sure how Wordfast works.
So, isn't it supposed to translate automatically any text you provide?
I thought that the TM is empty initially, and then it populates as the program and you translate and save the changes. That's what I got from the tutorial I saw on YouTube.

Thanks, again!

John Di Rico
John Di Rico  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 12:57
Member (2006)
French to English
Enable MT Oct 5, 2017

You need to enable machine translation (MT) if you want it to translate automatically.

Best,
John

raquel75 (X)
raquel75 (X)
United States
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
So, Wordfast doesn't do machine translation? Oct 5, 2017

Hi again,

I'm trying to understand translation software, I'm starting with Wordfast.
I have a file ready to be translated, but the "machine translation" option is not available. Do you know why?
I'm sorry, but I'm getting a bit frustrated
I'm attaching a capture of my Wordfast screen.

raquel75 (X)
raquel75 (X)
United States
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER