New type of scam (where they claim to be a business marketer rather than a customer)
Thread poster: George Trail
George Trail
George Trail  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:47
Member (2009)
French to English
+ ...
Aug 28, 2012

A couple of weeks ago someone rang me up claiming to be from the "UK Business Finder" directory – whether or not they were impersonating a real entity I don't know. He addressed me by my name and correctly pointed out what I did for a living – then he said that it was time to renew my business marketing with his company – £239.99 for another 12 months. Although I didn't explicitly remember having done any business with them in the past, he did sound very convincing – and after all, with... See more
A couple of weeks ago someone rang me up claiming to be from the "UK Business Finder" directory – whether or not they were impersonating a real entity I don't know. He addressed me by my name and correctly pointed out what I did for a living – then he said that it was time to renew my business marketing with his company – £239.99 for another 12 months. Although I didn't explicitly remember having done any business with them in the past, he did sound very convincing – and after all, with the marketing packages I have bought from certain other genuine companies, I just bought the idea that the "UK Business Finder" was one of the online directories I featured on following my purchase of such marketing packages, even though I didn’t verify its existence.