Thread poster: Alice Jones
Alice Jones
Alice Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:37
French to English
Jan 12, 2012

Hi everyone,

I am a recently established French-to-English translator working in the UK. I would like to know whether I need to be a certified translator in order to provide translations of academic qualifications (e.g. degree certificates)? I have seen many requests for French-to-English translations of academic certificates but have so far been wary about bidding for them due to being uncertain about whether I need to be certified...

If it is the case that I need to b
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am a recently established French-to-English translator working in the UK. I would like to know whether I need to be a certified translator in order to provide translations of academic qualifications (e.g. degree certificates)? I have seen many requests for French-to-English translations of academic certificates but have so far been wary about bidding for them due to being uncertain about whether I need to be certified...

If it is the case that I need to be certified, how do I go about becoming a certified translator in the UK?

Many thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Alice
Collapse

Jack Doughty
Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Russian to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Not quite the same as other countries Jan 12, 2012

We don't have officially "certfied translators" in the UK as they do in some other countries.
However, Members or Fellows of the Institute of Translation and Interpreting are considered
to be qualified to certify their own translations.
When you are asked for a "certified translation", you will usually find that what is wanted is an affidavit from a solicitor or notary public confirming that you are who you say you are and that you have the qualifications you claim. I have fou
... See more
We don't have officially "certfied translators" in the UK as they do in some other countries.