Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
I need help with my first time going full pro
Thread poster: Itlas
Itlas
Itlas
Italy
Nov 5, 2021

Hello all, it's my first post here, I hope I'm not breaking any rule.

I'm a demi-professional editor and today I've been proposed to edit the italian translation of a game, rated AAA.
The company offers 2600€ x month, paid through paypal or google but they want me to sign the contract today, which is kinda a red flag for me.
You have to know that this would be my first real contract and I basically know nothing about this world.

My questions are:
... See more
Hello all, it's my first post here, I hope I'm not breaking any rule.

I'm a demi-professional editor and today I've been proposed to edit the italian translation of a game, rated AAA.
The company offers 2600€ x month, paid through paypal or google but they want me to sign the contract today, which is kinda a red flag for me.
You have to know that this would be my first real contract and I basically know nothing about this world.

My questions are:

1) Is it normal to have to sign a contract so soon and with a pay so high? And are payments through paypal normal in this world?

2) For other italian or EU members of this forum, how a contract from an extra EU country gets contextualized in the italian or EU revenue?
Collapse

Elena Feriani
Elena Feriani
Italy
Local time: 14:52
French to Italian
+ ...
Signing contracts is OK Nov 5, 2021

1) Signing contracts (vendor agreements and NDA) is normal for my experience. The rest is unusual and fishy, but if you are dealing directly with the game company, it could be how they run their business. So, before missing this opportunity, do your research about the company. Are they writing from a company email address? Does the website under the same name work and look professional? The person you talk to has a LinkedIn page?
You are the one that can find out if this is a scam.
<
... See more