Thread poster: Kristina Love
Kristina Love
Kristina Love  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:55
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 16, 2021

I'm new to using the KudoZ system, and have only been awarded points once so far. I've never asked a question, but I am trying to contribute answers as often as I can, because I know it's the key to moving up in the directory which is one of the major factors of success on ProZ.

I'm puzzled by something I noticed happen a few times recently. Very experienced translators, who have already racked up a million KudoZ points, will give their answers in the discussion area, rather than s
... See more
I'm new to using the KudoZ system, and have only been awarded points once so far. I've never asked a question, but I am trying to contribute answers as often as I can, because I know it's the key to moving up in the directory which is one of the major factors of success on ProZ.

I'm puzzled by something I noticed happen a few times recently. Very experienced translators, who have already racked up a million KudoZ points, will give their answers in the discussion area, rather than submitting an Answer.

There are relatively few KudoZ questions available, and they're the key to everything!

What could be the reason why someone who has a very likely reliable Answer would choose not to submit an Answer? Perhaps points don't matter so much to them, because they are already on the first page of the directory, and they contribute to the discussions just because they enjoy doing so.

But this removes the precious few chances that other translators could have for winning KudoZ points. When a very experienced translator proposes a translation in a discussion, I immediately feel that there is not much point in trying to answer that question. Even if I do my own research, I feel I'd be seen as stealing the answers from the discussion area.