Portuguese letters and tags in html file
Thread poster: Anne76
Anne76
Anne76
English
Jun 9, 2004

Hello,
I am new in the localization business so want the apologize in advance if my question doens't sound very smart.
Here we go:
I just received a file back from a client written in Portuguese html files.
My problem: when converting the ttx files to htmlfiles, the Portuguese text (the letters with accents) shows up all wrong. The translator didn't use the commendatory tags all the time I think. Although, it shows up wrong only 10% of the time.
Could it have anyth
... See more
Hello,
I am new in the localization business so want the apologize in advance if my question doens't sound very smart.
Here we go:
I just received a file back from a client written in Portuguese html files.
My problem: when converting the ttx files to htmlfiles, the Portuguese text (the letters with accents) shows up all wrong. The translator didn't use the commendatory tags all the time I think. Although, it shows up wrong only 10% of the time.
Could it have anything to do with the way the ini file was programmed?
If anybody has advise on this, please let me know.
Thank you!
Collapse

Hynek Palatin
Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 10:34
English to Czech
+ ...
Charset / entities Jun 9, 2004

I am not completely sure, but you can try the following:

Does the document contain the right charset? There should be a tag like this in the beginning of the file:

<meta http-equiv="Content-type" content="text/html; charset=(your-charset-here)">

Or you can check the settings in Tag Editor: Tools - DTD Settings - (select your INI file) - Edit - Entities. You can disable entity conversion here.

Anne76
Anne76
English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Jun 10, 2004

Thank you for your response.
I tried to change the charset, but found out that Trados works with a default charset for Portuguese. I can't change it.